<b>Professor David Fairlie</b><br>
Head, Chemistry and Structural Biology Division<br>
Investigator, Centre for Inflammation and Disease Research<br>
Investigator, Centre for Pain Research<p>
P: +61 7 3346 2989<br>
E: d.fairlie@imb.uq.edu.au<p>
<b>Keywords</b><br>
- inflammatory disease<br>
- viral infections<br>
- cancers<br>
- Alzheimer's disease<br>
- cardiovascular diseases<br>
- type 2 diabetes<br>
- obesity
Professor David Fairlie
Head, Chemistry and Structural Biology Division
Investigator, Centre for Inflammation and Disease Research
Investigator, Centre for Pain Research

P: +61 7 3346 2989
E: d.fairlie@imb.uq.edu.au

Keywords
- inflammatory disease
- viral infections
- cancers
- Alzheimer's disease
- cardiovascular diseases
- type 2 diabetes
- obesity

Visit the Fairlie Lab website for more information.

Chemistry and human therapeutics

Our researchers work at the interface of chemistry and biology to better understand the molecular mechanisms of life, ageing, disease and death.

Our chemists study medicinal chemistry, organic synthesis, and computer-aided drug design; use nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy to investigate the structure and dynamics of proteins; and learn how small molecules interact with other small molecules, proteins, RNA and DNA. They discover new chemical structures, reactions and mechanisms; enzyme inhibitors, agonists and antagonists; and molecules that mimic the structures and functions of bioactive protein surfaces.

Our biologists use these novel compounds to explain the functions of human proteins and cells, and apply them to treat animal models of human diseases. They study mechanisms of protein and cell activation, biological processes, disease development and drug action.

Scientists within our laboratory combine their expertise across these fields to gain insights into human physiology and disease pathology, and develop skills in biochemistry, pharmacology, virology, immunology, oncology or neurobiology. They are working, in some cases with industry partners, to discover new drugs and treatments for: viral and parasite infections, such as HIV, dengue fever and malaria; inflammatory diseases, such as arthritis and inflammatory bowel disease; metabolic and cardiovascular diseases resulting from obesity and type 2 diabetes; cancers; and neurological diseases, such as Alzheimer’s and stroke.

During the year, we pioneered a new method to downsize proteins to small molecules with protein-like functions and potencies. This discovery can help researchers discover affordable new medicines.

Our lab also shown that the presence of an inflammatory protein called PAR2 in abdominal fat tissue of humans and rats correlates with obesity. Drugs that bound to this inflammatory protein were able to prevent and treat diet-induced obesity in rats.

Furthermore, as part of the Queensland Emory Development Alliance, we began a formal collaboration with colleagues at QIMR Berghofer, Brisbane, and Emory University, Atlanta, US, to investigate how to block a pathway responsible for intractable forms of breast cancer, potentially leading to a new cancer therapy.

Make a difference to Professor Fairlie's research by donating today.

Research training opportunities 

Please visit IMB's postgraduate website for more informaiton. 

Key publications

View more publications by Professor Fairlie via Pubmed or via UQ Researchers.

Lohman RJ, Cotterell AJ, Barry GD, Liu L, Suen JY, Vesey DA, Fairlie DP. (2012) An antagonist of human protease activated receptor-2 attenuates PAR2 signaling, macrophage activation, mast cell degranulation, and collagen-induced arthritis in rats. FASEB J 26: 2877-2887.

Iyer A, Lim J, Poudyal H, Reid RC, Suen JY, Webster J, Prins JB, Whitehead JP, Fairlie DP*, Brown L* (2012) An inhibitor of pla2g2a modulates adipocyte signaling and protects against diet-induced metabolic syndrome in rats. Diabetes 61: 2320-2329.

Diness F, Fairlie DP. (2012) Catalyst-Free N-arylation Using Unactivated Fluorobenzenes. Angew Chem Int Edit 51: 8012-8016.

Kjer-Nielsen L, Patel O, Nours JL, Meehan B, Corbett AJ, Liu L, Bhati M, Chen Z, Kostenko L, Reantragoon R, Williamson NA, Purcell AW, Dudek NL, McConville MJ, O’Hair RAJ, Khairallah GN, Godfrey DI, Fairlie DP, Rossjohn J, McCluskey J (2012). MR1 presents microbial vitamin B metabolites to MAIT cells. Nature 491: 717-723.

Hoang HN, Driver RW, Beyer RL, Malde AK, Le GT, Abbenante G, Mark AE, Fairlie DP (2011). Protein Alpha Turns Recreated in Structurally Stable Small Molecules. Angew Chem Int Edit 50: 11107-11111.

Barry, G.D., Suen, J.Y., Le, G.T., Cotterell, A., Reid, R.C., and Fairlie, D.P. (2010). Novel Agonists and Antagonists for Human Protease Activated Receptor 2. J Med Chem 53: 7428-7440.

Harrison, R.S., Shepherd, N.E., Hoang, H.N., Ruiz-Gómez, G., Hill, T.A., Driver, R., Desai, V., Young, P.R., Abbenante, G., and Fairlie, D.P. (2010). Downsizing Human, Bacterial and Viral Proteins To Short Water-Stable Alpha Helices That Maintain Biological Potency. PNAS USA 107: 11686-11691.

Shepherd, N.E., Hoang, H.N., Abbenante, G., and Fairlie, D.P. (2009). Left- and Right-Handed Alpha-Helical Turns in Homo- and Hetero-Chiral Helical Scaffolds. J Am Chem Soc 131: 15877-15886. 

Group contacts

Dr Prabhakar Bachu
Research staff
+61 7 334 62381
p.bachu@imb.uq.edu.au
Mr Johan Kamal Hamidon
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62381
j.kamalhamidon@imb.uq.edu.au
Mr Samuel Perry
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62123
s.perry@imb.uq.edu.au
Dr Aline Dantas
Research staff
+61 7 334 62985
a.dantasdearaujo@imb.uq.edu.au
Dr Woan Mei Kok
Research staff
+61 7 334 62381
w.kok@imb.uq.edu.au
Dr Fabien Plisson
Research staff
+61 7 334 62372
+61 7 334 62376
f.plisson@imb.uq.edu.au
Ms Anh Do
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62382
+61 7 334 62385
a.do@imb.uq.edu.au
Dr James Lim
Research staff
+61 7 334 62382
+61 7 334 62386
j.lim@imb.uq.edu.au

Dr Bob Reid
Research staff
+61 7 334 62381
+61 7 334 62991
r.reid@imb.uq.edu.au

Professor David Fairlie
Group leader
+61 7 334 62381
d.fairlie@imb.uq.edu.au
Dr Ligong Liu
Research staff
+61 7 334 62381
+61 7 334 62988
l.liu@imb.uq.edu.au
Mr Vernon Seow
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62382
v.seow@imb.uq.edu.au
Mrs Lyn Fairlie
Research staff
+61 7 334 62396
l.fairlie@imb.uq.edu.au
Dr Rink-Jan Lohman
Research staff
+61 7 334 62382
+61 7 334 62988
r.lohman@imb.uq.edu.au
Dr Martin Stoermer
Research staff
+61 7 334 62381
+61 7 334 62991
m.stoermer@imb.uq.edu.au
Dr Timothy Hill
Research staff
+61 7 334 62381
+61 7 334 62987
t.hill@imb.uq.edu.au
Dr Jeffrey Mak
Research staff
+61 7 334 62381
+61 7 334 62988
j.mak@imb.uq.edu.au
Dr Jacky Suen
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62123
+61 7 334 62382
j.suen@imb.uq.edu.au
Dr Huy Hoang
Research staff
+61 7 334 62382
+61 7 334 62988
h.hoang@imb.uq.edu.au

Mr Justin Mitchell
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62381
+61 7 334 62386
justin.mitchell@imb.uq.edu.au

Mr Weijun Xu
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62385
weijun.xu@imb.uq.edu.au

Dr Abishek Iyer
Research staff
+61 7 334 62382
+61 7 334 62386
a.iyer@imb.uq.edu.au

Mr Daniel Nielsen
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62381
d.nielsen@imb.uq.edu.au

Ms Annika Yau
Research staff
+61 7 334 62381
+61 7 334 62386
a.yau@imb.uq.edu.au
     

 

On this site