<b>Professor Matt Cooper</b><br>
Group Leader, Chemistry and Structural Biology Division<br>
Director, IMB Centre for Superbug Solutions <br>
Investigator, IMB Centre for Pain Research<p>
P: +61 7 3346 2044<br>
E: m.cooper@imb.uq.edu.au<p>
<b>Keywords</b><br>
- superbugs<br>
- antibiotics<br>
- inflammation<br>
- drug discovery<br>
- drug development<br>
- cancer<br>
- viral/bacterial infections<br>
- tuberculosis<br>
- dengue fever<br>
- Parkinson's disease
Professor Matt Cooper
Group Leader, Chemistry and Structural Biology Division
Director, IMB Centre for Superbug Solutions
Investigator, IMB Centre for Pain Research

P: +61 7 3346 2044
E: m.cooper@imb.uq.edu.au

Keywords
- superbugs
- antibiotics
- inflammation
- drug discovery
- drug development
- cancer
- viral/bacterial infections
- tuberculosis
- dengue fever
- Parkinson's disease

Visit the Cooper Group website for more information.

Visit the CO-ADD website for more information.

Drugs and diagnostics for superbugs, viruses and cancer

We believe we can more effectively treat patients by improving the way we understand and diagnose disease.

Our research is aimed at discovering new ways of detecting and treating bacterial infections, inflammatory disease and cancer.

We are designing and developing novel antibiotics active against drug-resistant bacteria, known as superbugs.

The alarming growth of superbugs, coupled with the paucity of companies working in this area, gives impetus to this research and our work to inform the community of these important health issues through the media.

We also work on tuberculosis and dengue fever, diseases responsible for millions of deaths in the developing world.

Our research is leading to new ways to diagnose infections caused by bacteria and viruses, and a deeper understanding of the molecular mechanisms that lead to the evolution and spread of drug resistance.

Many of our researchers have significant experience in both academia and industry, with past projects leading to products on the market today. We collaborate with government agencies and pharmaceutical, biotechnology and medical device companies in Australia, Asia, the UK and the US. We have a strong translational focus and aim to deliver innovative solutions for unmet medical needs in the community.

During the past 12 months, we have gained a deeper understanding of the role of gut biota, which are the bacteria that live in our digestive system, and how this affects inflammation in the development of diseases such as asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, diabetes and cancer. This basic research helps us to develop new methods to diagnose and more effectively treat patients affected by these complex and deadly diseases.

Furthermore, in partnership with more than 12 laboratories worldwide, we are designing and developing new molecules to target the interface between infection and our immune system’s response that leads to acute and chronic inflammatory disease. 

Make a difference to Professor Cooper's research by donating today.

Research in the news

Click here to view recent media coverage of Cooper Lab's research. 

December 2015: The year’s leaders in the arts, sciences, fashion, food, education and ideas (behind paywall) via QWeekend’s 50 Best and Brightest, The Courier-Mail

December 2015: UQ crowdsourcing the next antibiotic to combat superbugs via Advance Queensland Innovators website

September 2015: When should you take antibiotics via The Conversation

July 2015: Resistance isn’t futile – how to tackle drug-resistant superbugs via The Guardian

20 November 2014 Lifesaving antibiotics losing effectiveness via 7 News 

3 March 2014 - Researchers aim to stamp out superbugs via 7 News Brisbane 

Cooper Group projects and opportunities

You can view current Cooper Lab research projects and opportunities here or via IMB's postgraduate website

Key publications

View more publications by Professor Cooper via Pubmed or via UQ Researchers. 

“A community-based approach to new antibiotic discovery”, Matthew A Cooper, Nature Reviews Drug Discovery, 2015, DOI: 10.1038/nrd4706

“Carbohydrate scaffolds as glycosyltransferase inhibitors with in vivo antibacterial activity” J. Zuegg , C. Muldoon, G. Adamson, D. McKeveney, G.L. Thanh, R. Premraj, B. Becker, M. Cheng, A. Elliott , J. Huang, M.S. Butler, M. Bajaj, J. Seifert, L. Singh, N. Galley, D. Roper, A. Lloyd, C. Dowson, T.-J. Cheng, W.-C. Cheng, D. Demon, E. Meyer, W. Meutermans and M.A. Cooper. Nature Communications, 2015. DOI: 10.1038/ncomms8719

“A small molecule inhibitor of the NLRP3 inflammasome for the treatment of inflammatory diseases,” R.C. Coll, A.A.B. Robertson, J.J. Chae, S.C.. Higgins, R. Muñoz-Planillo, M.C.. Inserra, I. Vetter, L.S.. Dungan, B.G.. Monks, A. Stutz, D.E. Croker, M.S. Butler, M. Haneklaus, C.E. Sutton, G. Núñez, E. Latz, D.L. Kastner, K.H.G. Mills, S.L. Masters, K. Schroder, MA Cooper, L.A.J. O’Neill, Nature Medicine, 2015, 21, 248-255 DOI: 10.1038/NM.3806

“Antibacterial and antifungal screening of natural products sourced from Australian fungi and characterisation of pestalactams D–F”, Karren D. Beattie, Nicola Ellwood, Rohitesh Kumar, Xinzhou Yang, Peter C. Healy, Vanida Choomuenwai, Ronald J. Quinn, Alysha G. Elliott, Johnny X. Huang, Jessica L. Chitty, James A. Fraser, Matthew A. Cooper, Rohan A. Davis, Phytochemistry, 2015, DOI: 10.1016/j.phytochem.2015.12.014

“The Effect of Novel Compound MCC950 on the NLRP3 Inflammasome in the RA Joint”, T. McGarry, A.A. Robertson, C. Orr, R.C. Coll, M.A. Cooper, L.A. O'Neill, D.J. Veale and U. Fearon, Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases, 2015, 74 (suppl 2), 202 2-202, DOI: 10.1136/annrheumdis-2015-eular.3985

“Activation of redox-sensitive inflammasomes underlies the biological phenotype of myelodysplastic syndromes”, A. Basiorka ·K. Mcgraw ·E. Eksioglu ·X. Chen ·J. Johnson ·E. Padron ·R. Komrokji · L. Sokol ·R. Coll ·L. O'Neill ·M. Cooper ·A. Robertson ·S. Wei, A. List, Leukemia Research, 2015, 32, S14, DOI: 10.1016/S0145-2126(15)30033-3

Group contacts

Professor Matt Cooper
Group leader
+61 7 334 62044
m.cooper@imb.uq.edu.au

Dr Alysha Elliott
Research staff
+61 7 334 62745
a.elliott@imb.uq.edu.au
Dr Alejandra Gallardo-Godoy
Research staff
+61 7 334 62745
a.gallardogodoy@imb.uq.edu.au
Ms Angela Kavanagh
Research staff
+61 7 334 62398
a.badillovega@imb.uq.edu.au
Dr Avril Robertson
Research staff
+61 7 334 62204
avril.robertson@imb.uq.edu.au
Mrs Danielle Sutherland
Support staff
+61 7 334 62745
d.sutherland@imb.uq.edu.au
Mr David Edwards
Research staff
+61 7 334 62067
david.edwards@imb.uq.edu.au
Mrs Emma Cowie
Support staff
+61 7 334 62389
e.cowie@imb.uq.edu.au
Ms Janet Reid
Research staff
+61 7 334 62399
j.reid@imb.uq.edu.au
Dr Johannes Zuegg
Research staff
+61 7 334 62994
j.zuegg@imb.uq.edu.au 
Dr Karl Hansford
Research staff
+61 7 334 62107
k.hansford@imb.uq.edu.au
Ms Maite Amado
Research staff
+61 7 334 62399
m.amado@imb.uq.edu.au

Dr Mark Butler
Research staff
+61 7 334 62992
mark.butler@imb.uq.edu.au

Dr Mark Blaskovich
Research staff
+61 7 334 62966
m.blaskovich@imb.uq.edu.au
Ms Mathilde Desselle
Support staff
+61 7 334 62746
m.desselle@uq.edu.au
Ms Ruby Pelingon
Research staff
+61 7 334 62371
r.pelingon@imb.uq.edu.au
Ms Ruth Neale
Support staff
+61 7 334 62389
r.neale@imb.uq.edu.au
Ms Soumya Ramu
Research staff
+61 7 334 62399
s.ramu@imb.uq.edu.au
Dr Zyta Ziora
Research staff
+61 7 334 62067
z.ziora@imb.uq.edu.au
Mr Alexander Booy
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62375
alexander.booy@uqconnect.edu.au

Ms Amy Chan
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62375
amy.chan@imb.uq.edu.au

Ms Angie Jarrard
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62107
a.jarrad@imb.uq.edu.au
Mrs Anggia Prasetyoputri
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62156
a.prasetyoputri@uq.edu.au
Ms Ingrid Edwards
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62966
i.edwards@imb.uq.edu.au
Mr James Hill
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62375
james.hill3@uq.net.au
Ms Karlee Rees
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62375
karlee.rees@uqconnect.edu.au
Mr Lalith Kummari
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62375
l.kummari@imb.uq.edu.au
Mr Manohar Salla
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62375
m.salla@imb.uq.edu.au
Ms Marwa Hassan
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62966
m.hassan@imb.uq.edu.au
Ms Miranda Pitt
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62375
miranda.pitt@imb.uq.edu.au
Mr Nicholas Massey
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62165
s4320038@student.uq.edu.au
Mr Sanjaya Kc
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62395
sanjaya.kc@imb.uq.edu.au

Ms Wanida Phetsang
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62375
w.phetsang@imb.uq.edu.au

Mrs Zoe Schofield
Research higher degree student
+61 7 334 62375
z.schofield@imb.uq.edu.au