IMB’s researchers play an active role within Australia’s scientific and medical research communities here and abroad. 

Their contributions keep the Institute at the forefront of scientific advancement, sharing our progress on the global stage and welcoming new opportunities to collaborate with expert colleagues around the world.

The following highlights represent a small sample of the many valuable contributions made by our research staff during the past 12 months.

Appointment highlights

  • IMB researchers were appointed and re-appointed to the editorial boards of a number of leading international scientific journals, including Developmental Cell, Journal of Cell Biology, Current Biology, Molecular Biology of the Cell, Endocrinology, Traffic, Journal of Biological Chemistry, Journal of Leukocyte Biology, Genome Medicine, Developmental Biology, and PLOS One.
  • Professor Jenny Martin was appointed to the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Women in Health Science Working Committee.
  • Professor Sean Grimmond was appointed to the board of the Australian Genome Research Facility; as the Australian representative on the International Cancer Genome Consortium’s (ICGC) scientific steering committee; and as a co-leader of the ICGC’s pancreatic cancer translation program.
  • Professor Melissa Little continued her appointment as a member of the Strategic Review of Health and Medical Research McKeon Review expert panel, which delivered its 10-year strategic health and medical research plan for the nation to the Australian Government in April.
  • Professor Mark Ragan was appointed to the UK Medical Research Council’s College of Experts, as part of its Initiative in Medical Bioinformatics.
  • The Australian and New Zealand Society for Cell and Developmental Biology (ANZSCDB) appointed a number of IMB researchers to its 2014 executive committee, including Associate Professor Carol Wicking as President; Associate Professor Rohan Teasdale as Treasurer; Dr Jo Bowles as Secretary; Dr Fiona Wylie as Newsletter Editor; and Dr Mat Francois and Dr Kelly Smith as its Queensland committee representatives.
  • Dr Kelly Smith established the Australian Network for Cardiac and Vascular Developmental Biologists Inc. and was appointed secretary of the association.
  • Professor Rob Parton, Professor David Craik and Associate Professor Rick Sturm were appointed to the NHMRC Assigners Academy, a prestigious body of eminent researchers that give expert advice to the NHMRC CEO.
  • Professor Rob Parton and Dr Kate Schroder were appointed to NHMRC Grant Review panels, which provide confidential, independent and expert assessment of eligible NHMRC project grant applications. Professor Jennifer Stow was appointed to the NHMRC Peer Review Panel for Research Fellowships. 

Presentations and event highlights

  • IMB hosted more than 40 internationally renowned guest speakers during the year as part of its Friday seminar series.
  • Professor David Craik presented 22 plenary and keynote lectures in 10 countries, including India, China, USA, Thailand, Switzerland, Brazil, Japan, France, Ukraine and Australia. Notable among them was a major lecture at the 23rd American Peptide Symposium held in Hawaii, US, in June.
  • Professor Sean Grimmond chaired and presented at the cancer genomics session of the American Association of Cancer Research annual meeting, held in Washington, DC, US, in April.
  • Professor Paul Alewood chaired the 10th Australian Peptide Symposium hosted in Penang, Malaysia, in September. The event attracted 250 participants and also celebrated the 21st anniversary of the Australian Peptide Association.
  • Professor George Muscat was an invited speaker at the International Diabetes Federation’s World Diabetes Congress held in Melbourne in December, and the Asia-Pacific Diabetes and Obesity Study Group Symposium held in Tokyo, Japan, in October.
  • Professor Matt Cooper delivered the inaugural Howard Florey oration to 350 delegates attending the Australian Society for Antimicrobials annual scientific meeting held in Sydney in February. He was also an invited speaker at the 4th International NanoMedicine Conference held in Sydney in July.
  • Dr Lachlan Coin gave an invited presentation at the Australian Society for Microbiology annual scientific meeting held in Adelaide in July.
  • Associate Professor Tim Bailey presented a keynote speech at the International Society for Computational Biology’s Translational Bioinformatics Conference held in Seoul, South Korea, in October.
  • Many IMB lab heads chaired sessions and gave presentations at Combio2013—Australia’s premier biology conference—held in Perth in September. Notably, Professor Alpha Yap delivered the President’s Medal plenary address.
  • Dr Kelly Smith, assisted by Dr Ben Hogan and Dr Mat Francois, hosted the 2nd meeting of the Australian Network of Cardiac and Vascular Developmental Biologists, which was held on the Gold Coast in October.
  • Dr Nick Hamilton, Lanna Wong and Professor Mark Ragan organised the 10th annual Winter School in Mathematical and Computational Biology, an event hosted annually by IMB. Held from 1-5 July, the event attracted 36 expert speakers and 281 participants from 48 Australian and 9 overseas institutions from Austria, Brazil, Iran, Japan, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, UAE and the US.
  • Professor Jenny Stow and Dr Kate Schroder co-chaired the Inflammation, Cytokines and Disease Symposium, which attracted more than 200 participants and was held at IMB in November.
  • IMB senior researchers delivered 181 lectures to UQ undergraduate students.

On this site

Go to top